The Alex Benjamin Norris Award



The Rockville Centre Basketball League is proud to be a participant in the SSHS Graduating Class Awards and Ceremony.  The Rockville Centre Basketball League has been a part of the supervised recreation activities in the community for over 50 years.

The League's philosophy is based on equal play for all participants in order to provide student athletes with an opportunity to work hard to improve, to recognize one's own limitations, to accept players' strengths and weaknesses and to build teamwork.

The League is proud to recognize such commitment, leadership and participation by annually awarding The Alex Benjamin Norris Award. Alex was a player and a referee with the League who demonstrated the ability to achieve, to overcome obstacles and limitations and to lead and win respect by his unselfishness, commitment and energy.

This award is dedicated to the memory of Alex Benjamin Norris.  Alex reached for the stars in all that he did whether on or off the basketball court.  His desires to strive for excellence, to meet challenges with courage and dignity and, above all, to have fun were hallmarks of his character.  Alex refined his basketball skills playing BBL, first with the freshman and later with the majors.  He then went on to ref in the League, trying to give back to a sport that had brought him so much joy.  All this is his legacy.

It is with great pride that we present the annual Alex Benjamin Norris Award to a young man and a young woman who clearly exemplify Alex's high ideals.

 The winners of the Alex Benjamin Norris Award for Effort, Commitment and Achievement are:

Year Boys Girls
1996 Chris Hughes  Jaime Gaddis
1997 Billy Schaefer Brooke Wasserman
1998 John Cottrell  Alexis Broder
1999 Bobby Hom  Jen Taylor
2000 Brian Ferguson Megan Schaefer


Kevin King

Karen Wecksler


Chris Rooney

Alexis Skelos

2003 Keith Detwiller Loreen Lawrence
2004 Dwayne Fielder Jameela Yousef
2005 Louis Barricelli Jamie Oliver
2006 James Santo Christine McDougal & Courtney Morin
2007 Thomas Vercillo Allison Wallace
2008 Greg Knoch Brittney Bannon
2009 Ryan Porter Bridget Murray

Timothy Coleman

Kristen Caulfield

2011 Conner Semple Brittany McNally
2012 Nick Bruno Caitlin Wallace
2013 Brendan McDerby Charnae Jenkins
2014 James McTighe Bridget McFadden
2015 Jon Cheslock Caroline Spadaro
2016 Matthew Boranian Brianna Bigelow
2017 Ryan Prendergast